Technically Single

There’s always two sides to every story. Sometimes even more.


Hi! I’m Nora and I’m Technically Single (Hi! Nora)

I’ll be 25 by January. I’m a Lawyer and I love to sing. I met Bidemi the day I was being called to Bar. He came to support a friend of his. We’ve been dating each other for about 1 year and a half. At first we were just “trying” to be friends. I say trying because  we knew what was coming. We decided to go for it after about 2 months and the days started counting from then. At first, Bidemi was so caring. He still is but a lot of things have changed. It’s more like he’s doing it because I’m good to him and not because he still wants to do it. I’m not getting any younger and I expect that at this point, our relationship should be moving to another level. He doesn’t want anything to do with commitment and tries as much as he can to make that clear to me.

We decided last month that we would take a break. I feel like it’s over and it hurts but he still wants to act like a boyfriend and still be unavailable. I’m not sure what we’re doing anymore and I don’t know if we are still together or we just act like it.


 

Hi! I’m Kiki and I’m Technically Single (Hi Kiki!)

I’m 28, an entrepreneur and I love to network. I honestly sympathise with Nora and I hope she gets out of this difficult phase but I have a different approach and our stories aren’t quite alike.

I am Single. I like to think that I am. I’ve tried the whole public display type of relationship  and I just can’t see the point. I came to this meeting because I was told I have a problem but I can’t understand how. I like my relationships private. We could be in love when we’re alone but you’re just like everyone else in public. No special treatments. I haven’t had issues with that and I don’t think I do right now. When I am asked about my relationship status, I always say I am Single. In my defence, I am. At least until I get married, I am.

I don’t think Men are scum. It is not hurt that drove me to this point. It is truth. We are together and I’d like to keep that private until we unlock another level of our relationship. In my last relationship, he would always complain when we went out and other guys approached me and even got into conversations with me. I don’t flirt. I respect that you are right in front of me. I just don’t see how my conversation with someone else affects your fun at a party. That’s why it is a party. I love my space. Some people say I love it too much. I like spending time with other people too.

I try not to call my Lovers, my boyfriends because I don’t want publicity. You will not show up on my social media page. The admiration of others will not validate our love. I love when I love and I like to keep it private. I just don’t see what’s wrong with that.


 

Everybody stared at Kiki like she had unlocked a new stage in COD. She was just being plain old Kiki. Nora could not believe that a human being like Kiki even existed. Here she was complaining that she didn’t feel loved and Kiki was comfortable in her Single Life even as it involved a secret lover.

Leave a Reply

